11 Interesting Reasons to Read the Classics

This blog post was not meant to be about this. After blogging last week that I was reverting to blogging about my passion for classic literature, I wanted to write a blog about the importance of reading the classics.

After writing over half of what I intended, I started to lose enthusiasm for the subject. I think this was for 2 reasons. 1) Because I’ve already covered the subject in some of my earlier blog posts and 2) It felt like the subject and tone was too serious.

Therefore, I’ve decided to do a fun kind of listical blog post, to get me started again with the classic reading blog, and come up with some interesting reasons, based on my own reading and love for the classics over 10 years, to hopefully make you want to read them too.

So let me suggest the following:

1. The classics do historical fiction really well – You might think of historical fiction as books written by modern authors such as Hilary Mantel, Phillipa Gregory and Bernard Cornwell. But some of the greatest books ever written were historical fiction – The Iliad, The Odyssey, the history plays of Shakespeare, A Tale of Two Cities, the Les Rougon-Macquart series of novels by Emile Zola, and even perhaps without realising it, War and Peace. These all crafted stories out of real historical events and they did it very well!

2. Plato is not boring philosophy – I do like reading philosophy, but can admit that it can sometimes be very structured and unimaginative. Plato’s written philosophy is not boring. From the courtroom drama of Apology, to the creation of a supposed Utopia in Republic, Plato’s philosophy was definitely imaginative. Always set as dialogues between 2 or more people (always including Socrates of course), with wonderful settings in Ancient Greece, Plato is the best way to give philosophy a try.

3. Unless of course you opt for the thoughts and meditations of Marcus Aurelius – The Roman emperor trying to make sense of the world, ‘Mediations’ is often the first book I recommend to begin reading the classics. This book is not written as a dialogue, and is not trying to tell you how to live a good life, but telling himself how to live a good life. Which helps you in the process. Some of the greatest wisdom you’ll ever read. Trust me.

4. Intimated by the size? Start with a short story – The classics aren’t all door stopper epics. Yes, the behemoths are well known – War and Peace, Don Quixote, The Count of Monte Cristo, The Brothers Karamazov, Middlemarch, Bleak House etc. But some of the best known novelists were prolific short story and novella writers too. Tolstoy was a great short story writer; must reads include The Death of Ivan Ilych, How much land does a man need? and What Men Live By. James Joyce, the writer of the enormous Ulysses, also wrote the wonderful short story collection Dubliners. Perhaps the greatest was Anton Chekhov, an absolute master of the short story. Notable ones to start with are The Lady with the Little Dog, The Fiancée and The Bet.

5. And if you don’t read the classics, you’ll never find out how much land a man does need! – Also check out Chekhov’s diss track of Tolstoy’s answer in the short story Gooseberries.

6. Reading Shakespeare as an adult, is not the same as it was in school – This could apply to other classics taught in school as well. Learning Shakespeare at school didn’t do much for me either. It was boring and did not live up to the source material. But in school the choice was not yours. You were given the play and told how to study it. As a free-thinking adult, you have choice and time, and if you decide which Shakespeare you want to read, you might just realise why he’s the greatest writer that ever lived.

7. It will make you a better reader – It seems that the idea of becoming a better reader is lost these days. Mortimer Adler, author of How to Read a Book, stated that it is important to read books that are over our heads, as this will make us better readers. Meaning, we will be able to tackle and understand more complex texts. The best way to understand Shakespeare better, is to read more Shakespeare. I do believe this is the case, as at some point if you do read books that are perhaps more modern and (dons protective helmet) not regarded as classics, you will find these books quick and easy to read, and also dare I say it, not very interesting. Stretch your brain.

8. It doesn’t end when the book finishes – The classics have been studied over and over again for decades, and in many cases, hundreds of years. This is one of the key indicators of a classic. If you enjoy a particular classic, you can be sure that there are many further resources to help you explore the book further – commentaries, lectures, videos, societies (!), all kinds of media you can gather on the internet to enjoy the work further. One of my particular favourites is listening to a lecture by The Great Courses, a great resource to explore classic literature (amongst many other subjects) much further.

9. It feels good to be told ‘you’re well read’ – I know it shouldn’t feel good, but it does 🤷‍♂️

10. Reading a second time often makes it better – There are books that some experts label as ‘inexhaustible’. Meaning, no matter how many times you read it, you will always find something new to learn and understand things you perhaps previously didn’t. I can’t claim to have read many books a second time (always wanting to read something new) but I have always enjoyed a book further, if I read it a second time. Even on the second read, a book seems to gain a higher level of clarity. Chapters of a novel, perhaps not greatly enjoyed the first time, often make much more sense regarding how they are helping the story on the second read.

11. A lifetime spent well – I read an answer on Quora recently from an older man, who said he lead a very boring life, he didn’t travel much, but he had lots of time to read his books, and they made him happy. It was heart-warming to read, but further still, there were many comments from people stating they wish they could have a boring life like his. I do believe that people who really love and appreciate books are happy people. Whilst I believe a full life does include going out and seeing the world, there are always two worlds – the world out there and the world in there (points to head)! The brain can create a vast world, perhaps many worlds, within ourselves, and books develop our imagination, a kind of virtual reality from within. See the world, meet many people, but always have a book to read. I’ve had great reading slumps before, and I know I am always happiest when actively reading. The greatest books ever written will give you joy, personal growth and a greater understanding of the world. A life spent well.

6 thoughts on “11 Interesting Reasons to Read the Classics

  1. Well said, every word of it.
    And I would add, you can start at any age.
    I think I was very fortunate that my grandmother in England sent a huge box of her classics to us, and I read them all as a teenager, Of course some of them went over my head… I’d read Jean Plaidy so *blush* I thought Pride and Prejudice was a romance…
    But it had the effect of making ‘unafraid’ of the classics. And I went on to read many more of them, including classics from southeast Asia and most recently the Russians’ short stories, the ones that George Saunders uses in his writing course.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the comment Lisa! Yes, absolutely you can start at any age, though I was a late reader to the classics myself. I would have loved to have read some classics when I was teenager / in my twenties, but everything happens when it’s meant to I guess.

      Like

  2. I was glad, Pete, to find that you thought well of Benjamin McEvoy. As you said, he is likeable, and I feel that he presents his introductions to all kinds of literature in a pleasant and engaging way.

    The suggestions for dipping into the classics that you give hold interest and encouragement and are even seasoned with some humor. I wanted to mention a few of my reactions to them. I think Clifton Fadiman’s quote about Marcus Aurelius helping men and women to immediately live better was apposite and I appreciate your strong affirmation of his wisdom. When it comes to short stories, a modern master that I deeply admire is Jean Stafford. Her large volume of collected short stories won the Pulitzer prize around the time of the late ’60’s, I think. I believe she fully deserved the acclaim; she specializes in the device of the ironic twist and displays more than a dash of harsh reality for those who go in for that bracing view of things. I concur with you about The Great Courses, I’ve found enrichment and deepened understanding from them. Also, re-reading, which some have said is the only reading.

    There is a quote from Virginia Woolf somewhere about equating the love of books in earthly life as a preliminary to heaven. Thank you for this welcoming piece of encouragement that you have put forth.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the comment and kind words George! I’ll have to add Jean Stafford to my list, that looks like a very qualified recommendation! Probably my favourite Great Course is The Irish Identity by Marc C. Connor, which is equally a great history, literary and political course on Ireland through the ages. I’m not Irish (except for a tiny ancestral trail on my Dad’s side) but I found the history and celebration of literature fascinating.

      I love the quote you stated about re-reading being the only reading. I really am beginning to think that is true, and as I said in the blog post, things do become much clearer on the second read. Might plan a few re-reads over the next year!

      Like

Leave a comment